Two state titles and Howie Memorial at Wahgunyah

May 18, 2017

Trevor Mills from Corowa is one of the favourites in the NSW Modified Sedan Title on Saturday. Image by Kalari Photography.

This Saturday Wahgunyah Speedway managed by the local Corowa–Rutherglen Speedway Club will hold another ripper Speedway show attracting fans from right around the Murray and from as far as Canberra, Gippsland, Geelong and Swan Hill.
The crowd will enjoy a great night at the skids where the new Victorian Champion for Legend Cars, New South Wales Champion for Modified Sedans and Lachie Howie Memorial Winner for Standard Saloons will be decided.
Drivers for the Legend Cars New South Wales title are mostly from Sydney, Goulburn and Canberra with a couple others from outside of those areas, watch for Paul Opray, Bryan Neal, Glenn Mitchell, Mick Hebditch and Shane Younger who grew up racing in Victoria to take a liking to the Wahgunyah Speedway.
The New South Wales Modified Sedan title has attracted Rodney Pammenter who is without doubt in the top three competitors in the nation in the class to do battle with local track hero Trevor Mills.
Both will have their hands full with Mark Carlin a multiple winner of national titles and a number of young guns such as Ty Galley, Kye Walters and Daniel Simpson keen to put a Modified Sedan state title in their achievements list.
Robert Faux, Russell Bent and Paul Egan are some really tough competition that will also be in and amongst the front running action and it is a tough guess as to who might win. Pammenter however has a winning history at the track picking up a $3000 pay check once previously - he won’t want to blot the copy book this Saturday.
In Standard Saloon action the Lachie Howie Memorial honours a former young member of the club who like his elder brother Warrick who is now the Victorian champion in Standard Saloons, could have been a champion everybody would have looked up to if it hadn’t of been for tragic circumstances to take him away from his family.
Competitors that will be trying to take the trophy back home with them include Geelong’s Scott Whittle and Jay Dickson, Mornington Peninsula racers Craig Templeton and Nick Chrystie, Morwell’s Shane Stewart, Bendigo’s Aaron Marshall, Pakenham’s Brad Hill and Ladies Sara Benson from South Gippsland and Sarah Meakins from Kilmore.
The competition in any regards will be very tough with a winner not easy to pick.
Junior Sedans and a Speedcar demonstration are also part of the program on a great night of motorsport.

More in Regional
Login Sign Up

Dummy text