Eight candidates in ‘Local’ race

May 19, 2017

The 2016 Finley Chamber of Commerce Industry and Agriculture executive, president Daryll Morris, secretaries Sharni Hood and Sue Arnold, vice-president Gary Carr and treasurer Tabatha Smith.

Eight people have nominated for the Murray Local Land Services board, with five of those from the local area.

Deniliquin landholder Ken Crossley is seeking reelection, while other local candidates are Conargo landholder Colin Bull, Logie Brae farmer Gabrielle Coupland, Mayrung landholder Norm McAllister, and Finley landholder Daryll Morris.

Other candidates for the three elected Murray LLS board position are Samuel Marwood (Albury), Kim Stewart (Mullengandra) and Hugh Watson (Table Top).

Retiring Murray LLS elected board member and Deniliquin landholder Graham Allitt said it was a ‘‘very capable’’ election field.

‘‘We could be lucky and get all three positions filled by locals,’’ Mr Allitt said.

‘‘I only ask that people vote for someone with a bit of common sense and practical knowledge.’’

Mr Allitt and Mr Crossley were elected to the inaugural Murray LLS board in 2014.

The LLS was formed through the merger of the Catchment Management Authority, Livestock Health and Pest Authority and extension services of the NSW Department of Primary Industries.

Mr Allitt and Mr Crossley were elected alongside Balranald’s Terry Gorman, who now takes up a position as one of the three government appointed board members.

The other government appointed representatives are Finley’s Jenny Hehir and Holbrook’s Richard Bull, while Rand’s David Wolfenden is acting chair.

Mr Allitt, who had served 1 terms as an LHPA board member until the merger, said he was ready to take a step back.

‘‘I thought it was time to get out, considering I’m now 70,’’ Mr Allitt said.

‘‘It would be better if younger people were involved.

‘‘I have enjoyed my time as a board member representing the ratepayers, but it could be frustrating dealing with the government. It made getting things done a very slow process.

‘‘One of the biggest disappointments is that the government said early on that we would get a new head office in Deniliquin and it would be done quickly, and it still hasn’t happened. We have staff working in separate offices.

‘‘If the board had been able to make decisions on the office it would have been done in a few months, and everything would have been more efficient.’’

More information on the election and candidates is available at Voting closes 5pm on May 31.

More in Regional
Login Sign Up

Dummy text