‘Local’ Land Services Board

June 15, 2017

Three Deniliquin and district landholders have been elected to the Murray Local Land Services Board.

Returned director Ken Crossley will be joined by fellow local landholders Norm McAllister and Colin Bull on the board, effective immediately.

Mr Crossley said his focus for the next three-year term would be getting back to ‘‘the real business’’ of the LLS.

‘‘I look forward to getting a lot more money for on-the-ground services,’’ he said.

‘‘A lot of the cost in the last term was spent on strategies and plans for the fledgling organisation, and that business should have settled down now.

‘‘This, of course, is provided the funding keeps coming in as promised.’’

Local Land Services was formed in 2014 as a result of a merger of the Catchment Management Authority, Livestock Health and Pest Authority and extension services of the NSW Department of Primary Industries.

Mr McAllister, a former Conargo Shire mayor, said his intention for standing was to offer ratepayers a representative with specific interests in farming systems.

‘‘I stood to get a balance of landholders on the board — those who run farming systems and not just livestock,’’ Mr McAllister said.

‘‘I have a proud history in natural resource management and I have a huge interest in our agricultural systems.’’

Mr Bull said being elected to the board would allow him to continue his involvement with Murray LLS in a more official capacity.

‘‘Until now I have been on the local community advisory council, which is the link between the board and the ratepayers.

‘‘Being involved on the sidelines is different from being involved in the board, so I want to learn more about what has been done and what is yet to be done.

‘‘(I see the main aims as) providing a service to ratepayers based on common sense and practical policy.

‘‘The initial board was starting with a new organisation and a lot of work went into establishing what we have now, and I want to help build on that.’’

Local Land Services’ state chair Richard Bull said the locally-elected board members will work with the government appointed chairs and board members to focus on the strategic direction of the organisation, promote the services offered, encourage partnerships and build strong relationships with investors while also communicating the priorities and concerns of customers.

‘‘I congratulate all of the candidates on their election and welcome their input to the strategic direction of the organisation,’’ Mr Bull said.

‘‘They have put up their hands to serve and provide leadership in their regions and will be a voice for the view of our customers and other stakeholders.’’

Mr Bull is a government appointed director on the Murray LLS board, along with acting Murray chair David Wolfenden, Jennifer Hehir and Terry Gorman.

There were eight candidates for the Murray LLS ratepayer elected positions, with unsuccessful candidates including Daryll Morris and Gabrielle Coupland from the Finley area.

Other candidates were Samuel Marwood (Albury), Kim Stewart (Mullengandra) and Hugh Watson (Table Top).

More in Regional
Login Sign Up

Dummy text