Govt gets the keys to new destroyer

June 16, 2017

The federal government has the keys to the Hobart, the first of three new air warfare destroyers.

The first of Australia's three new air warfare destroyers is set to be handed over to the federal government.

Defence Industry Minister Christopher Pyne will tour destroyer Hobart on Friday morning and participate in an official ceremony in Adelaide.

Once operational the Hobart will have a crew of 186, a top speed of 28 knots and a range of 5000 nautical miles, or more than 9000 kilometres.

It will be followed into service by the second and third destroyers, the Brisbane and the Sydney.

The Brisbane was lowered into the water in Adelaide in December and will undergo sea trials later this year before being handed over to the navy in 2018.

The Sydney is expected to become part of the navy fleet in early 2020.

More in National
Login Sign Up

Dummy text