Rotary club changeover

June 16, 2017

Ruby Wilson, Mia Wilson and Jane Wilson and Betty Erickson at the changeover dinner to celebrate Mrs Erickson’s induction as Honorary Member of the Rotary Club of Corowa.

Rotary Club of Corowa 2017-18 board members Gary Poidevin, Meredith Miegel, Wally Cann, Neil Davis, David Potts and John Law. Absent were Graham Brown and Howard Scheetz.

The Rotary Club of Corowa held its 78th Changeover Dinner on June 1.

The outgiong President, Meredith Miegel, reported on the great year the club had, culminating in contributing more than 2500 hours of community service throughout the year.

Community service included the monthly Federation Markets and the Federation Festival weekend in January, along with the KVE catering and race gates, as well as many other smaller projects.

The detailed report followed along with the Rotary theme for the year ‘Rotary Serving Humanity’.

Mrs Miegel officially handed over the reins to incoming President Gary Poidevin.

Graham and Margaret Brown’s ‘District 9790 Ride to Conference’ was also a feature of Mrs Miegel’s report as it has the club once again on the forefront with District, raising just short of $14000 for Australian Rotary Health.

There were many highlights throughout the night, none more than the induction of Betty Erickson as an Honorary Member of the club.

Mrs Erickson is the wife of the late Chris Erickson, who was the club’s longest serving member before his passing, and Mrs Erickson supported him in all aspects of his Rotary life.

Mrs Erickson’s daughter Jane, along with two of her great grandchildren, attended the ceremony.

Another presentation on the night saw Wally Cann presented with a Sapphire Paul Harris Fellow by President Mrs Miegel.

Members of Wally’s family were also on hand to witness the special recognition of his work with the Rotary Club of Corowa.

After Mr Poidevin was inducted as president for 2017-18, he introduced his board for the next year.

The board is as follows: President: Gary Poidevin, Vice President: Meredith Miegel, President Elect and Service Projects: Wally Cann, Secretary: Neil Davis, Treasurer: David Potts, Public Relations: John Law.

Graham Brown (Membership) and Howard Scheetz (Rotary Foundation) were both absent.

More in Regional
Login Sign Up

Dummy text