Late entrants’ ‘Classic’ win

June 16, 2017

Tim Nolan and Ron Titchener were among the last entrants in the weekend’s Winter Classic, and were paired up by chance.

It proved a winning move as they took out the 36 holes event played over Saturday and Sunday.

Ron, a regular visitor, was heading to Deni for the weekend but by Wednesday evening, just before entry cut-off time, did not have a partner. Tim decided to play and they formed a winning combination.

Ladies 36 holes winners were Sara Lugsdin and Helen Foster.

The men’s scratch event was won by Peter Seely and John Penna, and ladies scratch by Kerran Leetham and Virginia Lange.

Saturday’s winners in the men’s section were Rob Wettenhall and Mat Cameron, and in the ladies the winners were Rita Barnes and Kerry Jennings.

On Sunday Rob Wettenhall and Mat Cameron again recorded a winning score, with the ladies’ trophy going to Brenda Campbell and Vicky Hutton.

The club thanks everyone who participated in another very successful Classic weekend.

Special thanks to sponsors Riverina Watermatic, Cleaner Carpets Deniliquin and Deniliquin Tile Centre.

There is plenty coming up at the club, both on course and on the social scene.

Tomorrow is a single stableford event and on Sunday we have Volunteers’ Day.

This will include a 12 hole event with 10am shotgun start, followed by barbecue and refreshments.

In the clubhouse there are the raffles and Joker’s Wild on tonight.

Over the winter months we will not have RSL catering, however there will be catering provided by members each Friday night.

This will vary from snacks to a meal, so keep tuned for details.

A major social event on our calendar is the Indian Night on Saturday July 14. Put the date in your diary and get in early to purchase tickets, as numbers are limited.

They are $40 per person which includes dinner and a complimentary drink on arrival and are available from June in the clubhouse.

Last week’s results:

Saturday June 10, Winter Classic:

Men’s winners R Wettenhall and M Cameron, r/u J Hunt and R Fitzmaurice; ladies B Campbell and V Hutton, r/u R Barnes and K Jennings.

Ball comp: Men - R Wettenhall, M Cameron, J Hunt, R Fitzmaurice, A Jenkin, R Yates, T Nolan, R Titchener, G King, G Huntington, C Liefting, A Lord, D Ring, N Nicholas, B Kell, M Portman, P Barns, C Thompson, R Landy, R Turner, D McQuie, K Reeves c/o 43; ladies - B Campbell, V Hutton, R Barnes, K Jennings, B Purtill, P Taylor, M Radeski, C Barca, P Lloyd, S Cohen, S Simpson, M Phyland, S Lugsdin, H Forster c/o 40.

NTP: 2nd K Leetham; 5th N Nicholas, M Randall; 9th J Scott, C Hardman; 11th C Gomez, P Lloyd; 13th B Kell, F McCalman.

Sunday June 11, Winter Classic:

Men’s winners C Gomez and W Harris, r/u R Moye and B Dudley; ladies K Druitt and L Bond, r/u J Choice and G Beckton.

Ball comp: Men - T Nolan, R Titchener, C Gomez, W Harris, P Seely, J Penna, D Irwin, B Barlow, G Freer, F McIntyre, N Bye, A Pentland, R Moye, B Dudley, P Barnes, C Thompson, D McQuie, K Reeves c/o 43; ladies - K Druitt, L Bond, J Lord, P Aitken, R McAllister, J Foster, M Rothwell, S Harris, J Choice, G Beckton, S Lugsdin, H Foster, B Leetham, W Pearce, S Simpson, M Phyland, K Leetham, V Lange c/o 41.

NTP: 5th G Marshall, H Foster; 9th L Campbell, S Simpson; 11th M Phyland; 13th J Scott, K Druitt.

36 holes: Handicap - Men T Nolan and R Titchener, r/u D McQuie and R Reeves; ladies S Lugsdin and H Foster; r/u M Phyland and S Simpson.

36 holes scratch: Men P Seely and J Penna; ladies K Leetham and V Lange.

Wednesday June 14, men’s single stableford:

A grade A Stevens 40, r/u N Purtill 36; B grade P Robinson 41, r/u J Metcalfe 39.

Ball comp: P Robinson, A Stevens, J Metcalfe, R Parks, G Collins, R Lawrence, A Tonta, N Purtill, W Hodgson, G Ward, C Thomson, D Connolly, G Rothwell, J Poka jnr, F Conallin, R Cameron, P Gatacre, J Jenkins, N Nicholas, P Hodgkinson, D Grant c/o 34.

NTP: 9th A Stevens, R Parks.

Thursday June 8, ladies single stableford:

A grade H Foster 36, r/u M Radeski 33; B grade K Cathcart 34, r/u P Taylor 32 c/b.

Ball comp: J Hussey, P Sherwin, J Armytage, Y Holmes, R Barnes, C Hardman c/o 31. NTP: 11th C Hardman.

Tuesday, ladies nine hole secret six stableford:

1st, V Barnes 15; 2nd, S Aitken 14 c/b; 3rd. P Aitken 14.

Ball comp: R Lawrence, K Cathcart, T Chandler, Y Holmes, R Barnes, D Seignior.

NTP: A Everitt.

More in Regional
Login Sign Up

Dummy text