RSL’s successful triples tournament

June 17, 2017

Deniliquin Bowling Club bowler Bryan Kemnitz in action at the weekend.

Monday winners Frank Seaton, Mick Coram and Dave Ashby.

Saturday winners Tony Marotta, Wayne Mattock and Peter McBrain.

Sunday winners Anthony Mathison, Rick Seymour and John McQualter.

Deniliquin RSL Bowls Club’s annual Queen’s Birthday triples tournament attracted bowlers from all over Victoria and as far as Perth.

Fifty-six teams played on Saturday, 46 on Sunday, and 30 teams on Monday.

Bowls greens at the RSL Club and Deniliquin Bowling Club were used.

The winners of the Saturday competition were Tony Marotta (s), Wayne Mattock, Peter McBrain defeating Deniliquin RSL team Mark Quor (s), Ken Wellard and Bruce Clancy by one shot in the final.

Sunday’s winners were Kyneton Golf Club’s Anthony Mathison (s), Rick Seymour and John McQualter with runners-up from Hurstbridge Bowling Club being Alan Leggett (s), Nathan Mills and Peter McNaughton also with a one shot margin.

The team of Mick Coram (s), Frank Seaton and Dave Ashby from Inverloch took out the last day’s play over Deniliquin Bowling Club’s Lloyd Richie (s), Graeme Nisbet and Bill Young on Monday.

RSL Bowls Club president Tony Tonta said the tournament was able to draw bowlers from such a wide area because of an attractive prize pool.

‘‘We were really pleased with the number of bowlers who travelled here to play,’’ he said.

‘‘It was an extremely successful weekend for the club and we’ve had plenty of positive feedback.

‘‘The perfect weather really helped to make it a great weekend.’’

More in Regional
Login Sign Up

Dummy text