Mulwala Team of the Murray League 1987–2017

August 09, 2017

Pictured are players who were present for the presentation of the team of the Mulwala Murray League past 30 years.

The Mulwala team of the Murray League 1987 to 2017 was announced at the conclusion of the round 15 Moama home game.

There were eighteen of the Mulwala legends of the Murray League present on the day to celebrate the achievement of being named in the team.  The team was printed on the front of the heritage jumper for the senior team.
Names including O’Dwyer Medallists Phillip Beams (1987), Robert Lamberti (1999 and 2001) and Jason Sanderson (2005) featured in the team.  
Seven players who played 200 games plus for the club over this period were also named and these included Phillip Beams, Craig Pleming, David Rose, Dennis Phibbs, Sean Robinson, Dylan Robinson and Nathan Parker.
The team had seven of the premiership hero’s from 1990.  Two leading goal kickers also featured; Jamie Solyom (140 goals in a losing Grand final year) and Peter Boyd (126 in a winning Grand Final year).  
There was a total of over twenty club best and fairest wins between the selected members.
The difficult task of deciding on the final team from the list of eligible players, (players who had played 30 or more senior games for Mulwala during the Murray League years), was completed by a panel of committee members from the teams submitted by experts who had followed Mulwala during the past 30 years.
Selecting the team was a very challenging task when the quality of eligible players was considered, but the final team was certainly a star studded line up that would dominate any opposition they would have faced in the Murray League across those years. They may have even challenged the super star Jerilderie teams of the late 80’s that included names like Mark and Paul Motlop, Benny and Tony Virgona, Russell Jeffery and Rod Wadell.
The players who were able to attend had a great day remembering glory days of the past and cheering on the current crop of young Mulwala players who put on a great exhibition against Moama only to fall short by a few points.
The process of selecting a team across any period of time is a challenging one and the final team will always be a topic for debate, with opinions argued across a cold ale as to who should be in and who should be out.
The final team is certainly a team of decorated and champion footballers and they will be remembered from here on as the Mulwala Team of Murray League.

More in Regional
Login Sign Up

Dummy text