Golf report

August 10, 2017

Elmore/Rochester/Lockington Community Bank's Tracie Kyne, Louise Williams (middle) and Karen Ballantyne (right) division one winners in the Bamawm Golf Club annual 4BBB stableford

Lorna Wilson (left), Elmore/Rochester/Lockington Community Bank's Tracie Kyne and Marilyn Morrell (right) division two winners in the Bamawm Golf Club annual 4BBB stableford.

Winners of the Elmore Tray Day: Carole Prigg, Leisa Evans and Jenny Major


THERE was a small but quality field that braved the conditions on Sunday for a stroke event.

Winner of the men’s event was Shane Dyson with a score of 91-21-70 and runner-up was Jake Wright with 78-6-72.

NTP fourth and 13th, Alex MacQuibban, seventh and 16th Shane Dyson.

Longest drive went to Shane Dyson.

Next week will be a stableford round. All members and guests welcome.


MONDAY Niners had John Oakley as the winner, scoring (53-17-36). He also putted well to win that competition with 12 putts.

Runner-up was Shane Wolfe (52-131/2-381/2).

Henry Hoppe fired off the straightest drive 9th.

There were no NTP claimants.

The Wednesday ladies winner was Denise Pappin (53-101/2-421/2), just ahead of Naida Belot, who was runner-up on (65-211/2-431/2).

Faye Latter won the putting (15) on a countback from Florrie Bickley.

Denise also won the raffle. Tomorrow is a Stroke game, monthly medal with Kath Newman on duty.

August 24 is fast approaching — the first day of our tournament.


ON TUESDAY, August 1 The Chicken Run played stroke on the front nine.

Alan Campbell had the winning score - Nett 36. Dennis Berlowitz had the least number of putts 13.

On Friday, August 4 the women held the annual Jubilee Tray event.

Eleven visiting teams played in bitterly cold conditions. The Rochester team (Carole Prigg, Jenny Major and Leisa Evans) won the tray with a combined stableford score of 75.

Division 1 Ruth Iser 27 points from Jenny Major 25 points on a countback from Louise Williams.

Division 2 Leisa Evans 28 points from Marianne Dunn 23.

Nearest the pins No 4 Joan James, No 6 Melva Knight, No 10 Leisa Evans, No 14 Ruth Iser.

On Saturday five of our members played in the 60th Golf Central Victoria District Mixed championships at Inglewood.

The winners with one over par 71 were Ian Frost (Bgo) and Tristen Wearne (Heathcote). Joy and Bruce Rasmussen ( Elmore) won the division 2 nett.

Sunday, August 6 was the fourth round of the Rochester Tyres.

The daily winner was Mac Whittle with 36 points from Glen Mangan 32.

Nearest the pin on the 9th in 3 shots was Harry Whittle and on the 10th in 2 shots was Mac Whittle. Progressive scores in the Rochester Tyres - Bruce Rasmussen 29, Harry Whittle 28, Greg Holmberg 22. It looks like being a photo finish.

Sponsors day on Sunday, August 13. Major raffle will be drawn.


GOLFERS played a stableford round at Lockington on Saturday in testing conditions.

Playing off his handicap of two, Grant Humbert rose to the challenge with a brilliant round of 42 points to clearly win the Pentreath’s Supermarket player of the day voucher, plus A grade honours.

Brett Stone was runner-up in A grade with a very solid 38, ahead of Terry Thomas (35), Steve Holt (34), James Hodgens (32) and Tim Staley (32).

Darren Carnie won B grade with 32, while Don Muhleisen won C grade with 34, ahead of Mark Lyons on 32.

Nearest the pins: 17th, Jayden Wright; second shot fifth, Grant Humbert (A grade with an eagle); Blake Humbert (B grade), Mark Lyons (C grade); second shot 18th for the six-pack smack, Steve Holt (second consecutive week).

Spike’s longest drive on the second, sponsored by Hot ‘n’ Cold Plumbing, Travis Mancer (A), Darren Carnie (B), Mark Lyons (C).

Neither the Echuca CIH eagles nest, nor Captain Terry’s yardstick prize on the 16th was won.

Saturday’s round was also the second running of the great grade battle, and the A graders made it two out of two with their average of 33.3, clearly ahead of C grade (28.9), who improved to second this year, while the B graders (27.2) were relegated to third.

Next Saturday’s round is the last chance to qualify for the Gartside Cup.

Qualifiers so far are:

First round: Rick Connors, Rob Hardess, Blake Humbert; Brett Stone (standby), second round: James Hodgens, Tim Staley, Jeff Carnie; Des Pentreath (s/b), third round: Ray Brereton, Ron Dixon, Jason Wakefield; Darren Carnie (s/b), fourth round: Don Muhleisen, Tom Scurrah, Mark Lyons; Andrew Harris (s/b).

Upcoming events: Wednesday, four-ball stableford aggregate, duty: Phyll Macfarlane, Anne Lowrie. Saturday, stroke, monthly medal and fifth qualifying round of the Gartside Cup, duty: Gary Milligan, Brett Stone. Tuesday, August 15, committee meeting. Sunday, August 20, Murray Human Services golf day four person ambrose, bookings to Glynis Kelly, 5480 6611.


THE annual Stubberfield fourball is always much anticipated at Rochester Golf Club and this year was no exception with 28 golfers vying for excellent trophies.

In an outstanding performance the pairing of club champion James Walsh and Steven Bubb returned a massive 49 stableford points to win the day.

Walsh shot 69 off the stick while his partner returned his finest round for the season.

Runners-up in the prestigious event was the pairing of Richard Feuk and Jason Cartlidge with 48 while Peter Hyden and Rob Vise finished third with 45.

Ball winners were Dave Winchcombe and Jake Wright with 44 from Dave Marshall and Graham Willis on 43.

Nearest the pins were monopolised by James Walsh on both the long third and the 18th holes.

Bruce Foster was closest to the pin on the fifth.

Saturday sees the annual Bill Curtis Flag Day with trophies provided by Bill’s mates each year.

A revered club member, Bill succumbed to Motor Neurone Disease but his mates are keen to keep his memory alive each year on this day.

A stroke event for the women will also be held on the day; Bill Dingwall and Graham Willis are on duty and a sausage sizzle follows presentations.

The annual MND fourball will once again be held on the grand final Friday holiday with all proceeds to this fantastic charity.

Members and visitors are reminded to keep this date free as the day always promises to be great fun with plenty of prizes and novelties on offer.

The men’s handicap fourball championship has reached the grand final stage when James Walsh and Steve Bubb take on Bruce Bryant and Graham Willis in what promises to be a hotly contested event.

Walsh and Bubb reached the final after defeating Tim Quinlan and Bruce Foster on Saturday.

Kevin McCormick and Richard Feuk combined well in last Wednesday’s Men’s nine hole two person Ambrose with net 28 ¾ from Gary Charnas and Bruce Bryant 29 ½ and Alex McQuibban won the nearest the pin.

The ladies have been busy playing special ‘bowl and tray’ days around the district.

Marg Knight won Division 1 at Belvoir Park last Monday on its bowl’s day, while at the annual Elmore tray day the Rochester team of Leisa Evans 28 points, Carole Prigg 22 points.

Jenny Major won the major trophy on the day from the Axedale team, Evans also won Division 2 and Major was runner-up in Division 1 on a countback from Rochester’s Louise Williams.

This Friday’s golf is a stroke day with count the putts. Assembly - 9.30am with hit-off at 10am.

The course will be in great condition after the much needed rain and all the work done by the ground staff in preparing the fairways and scrapes for the women’s bowl’s day held this week.

More in Regional
Login Sign Up

Dummy text