Murray to go to polls

August 11, 2017

Murray River Council will have a full council after a late flurry of nominations on Wednesday.

A total of 14 candidates have nominated for the September 9 election, which will be the first held for the new Murray River Council.

Eight of the candidates are former councillors with Murray and Wakool shires, which were merged to form the new council last year.

A lack of nominations in the Greater Murray Ward on Tuesday had raised the possibility a council would be formed with eight councillors instead of nine.

There are now more than three candidates in each of the Greater Murray, Moama and Greater Wakool wards, meaning eligible voters throughout the shire will be required to cast ballots next month.

In Moama, former councillors Chris Bilkey, Gen Campbell and Geoff Mackenzie have thrown their hat in the ring alongside Nicole Cohen.

The latter has been heavily involved in Echuca-Moama Little Athletics and was a finalist for Murray Shire’s citizen of the year in 2015.

In Greater Murray, ex-mayors Tom Weyrich and John Pocklington will vie for positions with Mathoura On The Map committee chair Nicole Stenhouse and Moama businessmen Geoff Wise and Tony Aquino.

Neil Gorey, Alan Mathers and Ann Crowe are former Wakool councillors contesting the Greater Wakool Ward, while Katherine O’Brien and Christine Dartnell have also nominated.

Voting at the election is compulsory for Australian citizens aged over 18 and enrolled in the council area.

The NSW Electoral Commission is managing the election.

Visit for more details.

More in Regional
Login Sign Up

Dummy text