Roaring into the grand final

September 14, 2017

Cobram Roar will play Myrtleford Savoy in the Albury-Wodonga Football Association grand final this weekend.

Cobram Roar will play Myrtleford Savoy in the Albury-Wodonga Football Association grand final this weekend.

Their previous meetings were 2-1 at home and 1-4 away.

Cobram had the better of Myrtleford when they travelled to Cobram and could have easily won by a larger margin in a match the Roar totally dominated.

This match back in May was the last loss Myrtleford would have this season.

Cobram went into the match in Myrtleford without striker Bill Puckett, and Nathan Thomas came off early with a hamstring injury, throwing the side way out of balance as Cobram paid the price for a lacklustre display.

●Key match-up: Aaron Feldtmann v Matt Park.

The former AWFA star player and leading goal scorer Park caused Cobram plenty of headaches last time they met, scoring a hat-trick.

Cobram captain ‘Sticks’ Feldtmann was have his hands full but must do the job if Cobram are a chance of winning.

●History: This will be the fifth time Cobram has faced-off against Myrtleford in a grand final, with the last being 44 years ago.

Cobram defeated the Savoys in 1968, 1969 and 1970 in the town’s very dominate era, but Myrtleford got one back in 1973 as they defeated Cobram in a penalty shoot-out.

●Form: Cobram go into the match very confident knowing they were the last side to defeat Myrtleford.

With a full side to choose from this time, Cobram coach Adam Gatcum knows his side has the firepower to cause problems for any side.

Myrtleford have not lost since round seven but have gained some key injuries at the wrong time of the year with captain and centre-back Brenton Cook out for the season with a knee injury and star midfielder Jesse Stephens in doubt with a hamstring problem.

Cobram Roar seniors

GK Samuel Varley, 2 Raymond Diramacca, 3 Taner Tekan, 4 Bill Puckett, 5 Adam Gattcum, 6 Lee Tweedie, 7 Marc Startari, 8 Shaun Willis, 9 Tyler Seabrook, 10 Glenn Feldtmann, 12 Aaron Feldtmann (captain), 14 Justin Smith, 15 Steven Cigana, 16 Carlo Meola, 18 Michael Startari, 19 Nathan Thomas, 20 Nazzareno Santoro, 21 William Marshall, 22 Jake Keating, coach Adam Gattcum, assistant Michael Startari, manager Jacqui Seabrook.

Cobram Roar reserves

GK Jake Keating, 2 Jordan Nankiville, 3 Taner Tekin, 4 Lachlan Osbourne, 5 Carlo Meola, 7 Will Seabrook, 8 Nazzareno Santoro, 9 Michael Startari (captain), 10 Joseph Ballerini, 12 Joshua Koopman, 15 Steve Cigana, 16 Kyran Attana, 17 Albert Zito, 18 Jacob Bovalino, 19 Nathan Stoate, 21 Joshua Kneebone, 14 Hamish Sweeny, 20 Ben Mahoney, 21 Alfonso Grillo, 22 Zac McLeod, coaches Christopher Gash and Michael Startari, manager Sonya Ballerini.

Cobram Roar division three (under-18)

GK Samuel Vardy, 2 Lachlan Osborne, 3 Jordan Nankiville, 4 Max Cabading, 5 Joshua Koopman, 6 Cooper Sorrenti, 7 Will Seabrook, 8 Michael Demaio, 9 Ben Mahoney, 10 Joseph Ballerini (captain), 12 Nicholas Gash, 14 Hamish Sweeny, 15 Nicholas Osborne, 16 Kryan Attana, 17 Nathan Stoate, 18 Jack Cassidy, 19 Marcus Ruijters, 20 Tarkyn Hyde, 22 Zac McLeod, coach Christopher Gash, manager Felicia Lacey.

More in Regional
Login Sign Up

Dummy text