Who has come before?

October 13, 2017

The local region’s last four local members have been from the NSW Nationals.

Adrian Piccoli served as our local Member for Murrumbidgee from 1999 to 2007, and was then elected NSW Member for Murray with the boundary redistribution in 2015.

In the period Mr Piccoli was not the local member, the local area had been moved into the electorate of Murray-Darling as a result of a boundary redistribution.

Held by Labour’s Peter Black in the lead up to the change, he was beaten at the polls by The Nationals’ John Williams at the 2007 election.

Mr Black had been the Member for Murray-Darling since 1999.

Mr Williams served two terms as Member for Murray-Darling until the 2015 redistribution. He did not challenge Mr Piccoli for NSW Murray and retired from politics as a result of the change.

Before Mr Piccoli’s election as local member in 1999, the district was represented by local man Jim Small.

A The Nationals member, he was Member for Murray from 1985 to 1999.

Mr Small succeeded Tim Fischer, who was The Nationals’ NSW Member for Murray from 1980 to 1984. Mr Fischer later entered Federal Politics, as Federal Member for Farrer, and also served as Deputy Prime Minister.

More in Regional
Login Sign Up

Dummy text