Golf notes

December 07, 2017

Cobram Barooga lady golfers won the Goulburn Murray Golf Association Summer Pennant flag Back - Helen Hall, Rhonda Rettke, Kerri Wilkie, Chris Crawford, Marg Rhode and Carol Pettitt Front - Edna Lloyd, Fran Thatcher, Val Fenner, Jill Sheedy, Marg Majernik and Jenny Tom Absent - Heather Aston, Deb Ryan and Vanessa Ranken.


November 28, stableford, west course, 51 players.

Noel Milligan won A-grade with 37 points off his 16 handicap.

Runner-up on a countback was Arnie Manuel with 36 points.

B-grade winner on a countback was Ray Bill with 37 points. Tony Monahan was runner-up.

Golfer of the year points count saw Bill add four points to his account, Tony Monahan three points, Milligan two points and Farmer Arnie one point.

Bill continued his good game by winning nearest the pin on the fifth hole, Frank Vogel won on the 13th and Geoff Hall won on the 16th. Balls were won by those scoring 33 points or better.


November 29, stroke, west course.

Don Dodd was still in good form to win the comp with nett 38.

Balls went to 40. Winners were John Dobbie, Jim Horne and Graeme Landy. Noel Duns won Giuliana’s prize.


November 29, stableford, old course.

A-grade winner was Ruth Messner with 38 points.

Bev Peacock enjoyed a long-awaited win in B-grade with 37 points.

Heather Aston and Jan Curran took out nearest the pins on the eighth and 17th holes. Three balls went to those scoring 36 points, two balls to 33 points and one ball to 31 points.


November 30, stableford, west course.

Vic Willmoth won A-grade with 40 points playing off a handicap of 18.

Brian Tate won B-grade with 38 points.

Nearest the pins were won by Willmoth on the fifth, Kevin Dunn on the 13th and Noel Stephens on the 16th, while Chris Tomlinson won on the eighth before finishing the day with an eagle on the 18th.

Balls down the line were credited four balls to 39 points, three balls to 38, two balls to 35 and one ball to 34.

Gai Mitchelson won the women’s competition with 36 points on a countback to Marg Wallace.

Steffi Vogel won the nearest the pin on the fifth.


No golf was played on Saturday due to heavy rain forecast.


December 3, nine-hole slomen event, old course. Sponsored by the president and secretary.

Peter Barrie won A-grade with 37 nett off a handicap of six.

New junior player Riley Sampson won B-grade with nett 34. Nearest the pins were won by Ron Smith on the 12th and Riley Sampson on the 17th.

Ryan McDiarmid is back to his big-hitting ways, winning the longest drive.

Max Harrison, John Dobbie and Gary Ennals won a ball with nett scores going to 38. Ray Thomas took out the NAGA.

Next week is to be played on the front nine of the old course between 7am and 8am.


December 3, medley stableford, old course.

Winner today in a small field was Frank Messner with 37 points.


Cobram Barooga’s women golfers finished 2017 on a high note by winning the Goulburn Murray Golf Association Summer Pennant flag.

The team was unbeaten in its east division games and then defeated Hill Top 4-1 in the final at Kialla.

It was a fantastic team effort as 15 different players competed during the rounds.

Team spirit was encouraged by travelling by bus together to the various venues.

The win was celebrated at the Christmas party held the same night.

More in Regional
Login Sign Up

Dummy text