Packers win grand final

December 08, 2017

Sam McPherson is presented with the Cameron White trophy by inaugural winner Andrew Storer.

Breanna Inglis and Sarah and Caitlyn Brooks received encouragement awards.

The Packers are the premiers of the Numurkah Squash Club spring pennant competition after an exciting grand final against the Chargers that went down to the wire on Monday night.

Team captain and club president Dave Kelly got the victors an early lead with a strong 9-5, 9-1, 9-3 win against opposing captain Max Hall.

Max had trouble finding his rhythm and Dave powered through, never at any real risk of losing the line three match.

Charger Leesa Inglis was next up in the line six match against daughter Breanna Inglis.

Leesa’s first pennant has been very strong and she will no doubt be promoted to the next line next year with a straight run of wins in three games.

And she maintained that performance in the big dance with a three-game win over Breanna 9-0, 9-0, 9-1.

Packers’ line two player Ethan McDonald worked up a sweat against Sam McPherson.

Sam started slowly in the first game against the left-hander but overtook Ethan and took the first game 9-4.

Sam pummeled Ethan’s backhand and kept him at the back of the court with deep shots.

Ethan had the run and the fitness but his shots weren’t as penetrating or precise as those of Sam, who won in straight games 9-3, 9-3.

With the Chargers looking strong at two rubbers to one, Jack Kelly played Jake McPherson and overcame some stray shots to take the first game 9-6.

But Jake performed a massive turnaround and Jack had no answers.

Jake levelled the match at two-all after smashing Jack in the last three games 9-0, 9-0, 9-0.

With match wins tied, Jack’s one game kept the Chargers just ahead when the line five match of Nav Chhina and Packers’ Neroli Eddy began.

It was an even match with a lot of lets called. Nav had a bit of trouble hitting the ball away from himself.

Nav took the first two games 9-7, 9-7, but Neroli started nailing her lob serves which Nav was struggling to return.

Neroli levelled the match with 9-6, 9-6 wins before Nav held on in the last game and took the Chargers one rubber up.

Neroli’s two games were very important and number one Andrew Meredith needed to win in three games to take his team to victory.

Charger Phil Armstrong needed to win one game to force the title to be decided by total team points.

Andrew began strongly and took the first game quickly 9-1 but Phil pushed hard in the second game and got to 8-8 before Andrew won 10-8.

Again Phil got to 8-8 in the third game and tried everything to win the crucial game needed — but Andrew was just too slick and secured the premiership with a 10-8 win.

All players headed to the Shamrock Hotel for the awards ceremony, where Sam McPherson was awarded the prestigious Cameron White Trophy for best player of the year.

Breanna Inglis and sisters Sarah and Caitlyn Brooks won the club’s encouragement award.

Phil Armstrong was delighted to win the club person award for the second time.

While players will be enjoying a break over Christmas, organisers will be working on new team line-ups for the summer pennant starting in late January.

More in Regional
Login Sign Up

Dummy text