Bowls report

By Campaspe News


The club held its AGM last week and named its new president as Russell Shawcross, with a small number of stalwarts in attendance.

Outgoing president Tom Davis presented his annual report in thanking all members and committees for their vital contribution to the ongoing success of the club, and reporting that his two year term as club president was very rewarding.

Joy Weller occupied the chair for the election of office-bearers for season 2018/2019 and congratulated Davis on his commitment over the past two years.

With Shawcross heading the line-up, the senior vice president is Ray Hanson, junior vice president is Neil Haines, treasurer is Alan Kauffman, and secretary is Neil Haines.

Treasurer Alan Kauffman presented a healthy report on the club finances.

On Tuesday the women conducted the election of office-bearers, with new president Kath Palmer elected. Vice president is Anne Lowrie and the secretary is Joy Weller. Treasurer is Pauline Humbert.

The popular game of Scrounge is continuing to attract good numbers with five rinks required last week.

In a day of high scoring Bev Brereton hit the jackpot with 77 points for a rink win. Other winners included Annie Haines 56, Ian Johnson 50, Kath Palmer 49 and club secretary Neil Haines finishing on 46 points.

Scrounge will continue on a Wednesday, weather permitting, starting at 1pm.