Massive numbers for Veterans event

January 10, 2018

Southern Riverina Veterans C grade winner Bill Judd (Finley), B grade winner Joe Borg (Yarrawonga) and A grade winner David Wilson (Cobram).

Tocumwal golfers Tom Wilton (B grade runner-up) and Danny Anderson (C grade runner-up).

SR Vets

The January Southern Riverina Veterans Golf Association Competition round held at the Finley Golf Club on Monday saw a massive field of 96 golfers taking part.

David Wilson (Cobram/Barooga) stood tall amongst the large number of competitors to claim the A grade trophy with 39 points in the stableford event.

Fellow Cobram/Barooga club member Doug Pocknee was runner-up with an impressive 38 points.

Joe Borg (Yarrawonga/Mulwala) with 40 points after countback took B grade from Tom Wilton (Tocumwal) runner-up.

Bill Judd (Finley) with 39 points took C grade with Danny Anderson (Tocumwal) the runner-up on 38 points.

A grade NTP went to Laurie Blackmore ( Jerilderie), B grade was Alan Hand (Finley), C grade went begging, and All Grades went to Danny Anderson (Tocumwal).

Balls were awarded to players with 31 points or better.

The next SR Vets competition is scheduled to be held at Tocumwal on Monday, February 12.


Last Tuesday 50 ladies played Monthly Medal stableford with Petra Wilmot taking Division One and the medal with 41 points, followed by Tarina Foote 38.

Division Two went to Janet Threadgold on 38 followed by Lynne Parry with 37.

Mary McMahon took out Division Three 36 points with runner-up going to Adele Baensch 35.

NTPs went to Cheryl Hart 2nd, Rhonda Lewis 18th.

On the same day, nine men played stableford with the win going to Colin Holdsworth on 41 points.

NTP went to Ross Clark 18th.

New Year’s Day saw nine ladies and 22 men playing stableford medley with ladies winner being Rosanne Emery with 39 points; NTP also went to Emery on 2nd.

Men’s Division One was won by Geoff Hamill on 38 points.

NTP went to Nathan Matthews 2nd.

Wednesday was 4BBB stableford medley that saw a full field.

Stephen Guille and Simon Thompson were the winning pair with 47 points on countback from Alan Leggate and Russell Conrad.

NTPs went to Ross Cousipetcos 8th, John Simm 14th, Stephen Guille (East Geelong GC) Pro Pin $119.

Saturday saw a small field due to excessive heat with 16 ladies playing par medley.

Shellei Clark was the winner with four-up and runner-up was Sheree Geall (East Geelong GC) square. NTPs went to Nola Stacey 2nd, Shellei Clark 17th.

That same day 39 men played with Division One going to Bruce McCallum with two-up on countback from Jason Buchanan (Heidelberg GC).

Joe Sacco was the Division Two winner with five-up followed by Dennis Frost square.

NTPs went to Anthony Clement 2nd, Ricky Bourke 17th.

On Sunday, the men played stroke Monthly Medal/Best Gross with Grade winner and Monthly Medal going to Hugo Jankov with 68, with Paul Olsen runner-up on 70.

Division One gross winner was Mal McKenna (Lang Lang GC) 75.

Division Two Gross and Grade winner was Albert Adams 84-68 while Ricky Bourke was runner-up on 68.

Ray Hehir was the Gross and Grade winner in Division Three with 100-66 and runner-up was William Tendeson 76. NTPs Michael Cooper 2nd, Steven Geall (East Geelong GC) 14th.

Men’s Gold winner was Lindsay Gilbee 77.

Seven ladies also played stroke with Trish Frost the winner with 74. NTP Nola Stacey 2nd.


There was a big turn out for Wednesday’s stableford medley competition.

Doug Smith with 38 points took out the A grade trophy while Billy Smith with 39 points took out B grade. NTP on the 18th was Ian Armer.

Balls went to Mark O’Brien and Leo McNamara with 36 points and Ian Armer, Rand Wilson, Jason Pyle, Peter Middlebrook and Helen Wastle all with 35 points. The Matt Daniel Plumbing NAGA Trophy went to Lindsay Donkin.

England might be struggling in the cricket but visiting English couple Michelle Best and Barry McHugh found the going easy at the Thursday nine-hole competition.

Michelle with 26.5 net claimed the voucher and balls went to Naldo Casanova (27.5) Jon Munro (27.5), as well as Barry McHugh and Peter McGill each with 29 net.

The heat reduced the field on Saturday when stroke medley was played with Alan Hand, after countback, claiming the trophy with 69 net. NTP on the 13th was Norm Pyle and on the 18th Alan Hand. Balls went to Rand Wilson (69) and Norm Pyle (70).

A few more turned up for the stableford medley competition on Sunday with Bob Makkinga carding 40 points to collect the trophy.

NTP on the 18th was Dave Cordell. Balls went to Marty Piggin (39), Barry Fahey (38). Leo McNamara claimed the NAGA trophy.

At the weekend it is Monthly Medal on Saturday and on Sunday it will be Stableford.

More in Regional
Login Sign Up

Dummy text