Stein dominates weekend competitions

February 14, 2018


Jeff Stein dominated golf on the weekend at Berrigan, capturing both events.

Saturday saw Stein victorious with 41-9.5-31.5 to defeat a devastated Chris Cameron on 37-5-32.

Barry Browne won the putting with 14 while Wayne Crew was a ball winner.

Sunday’s stableford competition saw Stein blitz the field again, with the in-form golfer recording 43 points. Runner-up was Thomas Whelan with 39 points.

Gail Browne won nearest the pin on the 8th. Ball winners were Brendan Haintz, Jim Walliss and Fraser Haintz.

Next Sunday is a stroke event with an 8.30am hit off.


Chick Braybon with 37 points took the trophy at last Wednesday’s Stableford Medley Competition.

NTP on the 18th was Kellie White, and balls went to Mark O’Brien (36) and Alan Hand (35).

Bob Makkinga returned to the winners’ circle when he carded 23 points at the 9-Hole Stableford on Thursday. Ball comp winner was Jon Munro (22).

On Saturday the S&J Corcoran Stroke Event was played which included the February monthly medal.

Jon Munro with 64 net took the Men’s A Grade trophy along with the Net Medal and the Cock of the Walk title, whilst it was Ray Healey with 70 net who claimed B Grade.

Ian Armer with 73 off the stick added another Scratch Medal to the collection.

Sue Simpson scooped the pool when her 90-22-68 gave her the Ladies’ Trophy, the Scratch Medal and the Net Medal and also the Putting Trophy with 24 putts.

NTP on the 18th went to Grant Shaw.

Balls went to Wayne Peasley (68), Ian Armer (69), Sel Corcoran (69), John Taylor (71) and Tracy Jones (72).

Beau Makkinga claimed another space in the NAGA of NAGA’s competition.

On Sunday a Stableford Medley event was played. Alan Hand with 46 points claimed the trophy.

NTP on the 13th was Mary Polkinghorne and on the 18th it was Paul Pinnuck.

Balls went to Rand Wilson (40), Chick Braybon (37), Leo McNamara (35) and Doug Smith (34).

Ian Daniel picked up the NAGA trophy.

This weekend stroke will be played on Saturday and a versus par medley on Sunday.

Southern Riverina Vets

The February Southern Riverina Veterans Golf Association competition round held at the Tocumwal Golf and Bowls Club on Monday saw 130 golfers taking part.

Stableford was played and Rod Harris (Yarrawonga /Mulwala) with 38 points took the A Grade trophy whilst Jim Ryan (Cobram/Barooga) on 37 points was runner-up.

Peter Bennett (Yarrawonga/Mulwala) with 45 points took B Grade from Lynton Goodwin (Cobram/Barooga) with 43 points.

Tom Munro (Cobram/Barooga) with 44 points took C Grade whilst Tony Monahan (Tocumwal) on 39 points was runner-up.

A Grade NTP went to Bob Woodgate (Yarrawonga/Mulwala), B Grade Gary Presnell (Yarrawonga/Mulwala), C Grade was Spencer Rutherford (Tocumwal) and All Grades went to Peter Bennett (Yarrawonga/Mulwala).

Balls were awarded to players with 32 points or better.

The next SR Vets competition is scheduled to be held on Monday, March 5.


Tuesday last week saw 62 ladies playing Stableford Monthly Medal that saw Division One going to Anne Beveridge with 36 pts, followed by Jillian Allen on 33.

Jill Loversidge was the Division Two winner with 38 pts, with runner-up going to Joan Burns 35.

Margaret Anderson was the Division Three and Monthly Medal winner with 40 pts.

NTPs went to Jillian Collins 8th, Jean Somerville 17th, Pamela Richardson Pro Pin $48.

Last Wednesday there were 91 men playing Par from the white markers that saw Division One going to Bruce McCallum with three up on c/back from Shane Halloran.

Peter Quirk was the Division Two winner with seven up, while Fred Rossborough with +5 was runner-up.

Division Three went to Ray Hehir +4, followed by Lindsay Jones +2.

NTPs went to Rick Tyler 2nd, Kenichi Ueyama 14th, Norm Brosnan Pro Pin $91.

More in Regional
Login Sign Up

Dummy text