Pyalong salutes in decider

March 14, 2018

Eastern Hill defeated favourites Nagambie to win the 2018 SDCA C-Grade premiership.

Half time: The Seymour side regroups after a solid innings with the ball, contemplating the 197 run target for victory.

Defiant: Brett Gordon (28) remained composed while the pressure of early wickets built up.

Cooling off: Hayden Gawne enjoys a moment with the air con after taking 4-22 in the heat.


Pyalong v Seymour

While Seymour upset minor premiers Alexandra in the semi-final to reach their first B-grade grand final since 2006, Pyalong proved too strong in the decider played at Tallarook.

Winning the toss and electing to bat, Pyalong’s Sean Walsh (17) and Gavin Thomson (29) started with confidence until Seymour’s Hayden Gawne got the breakthrough wicket with Walsh gone, caught and bowled.

After Thomson was dismissed by Lovely Singh (1-25 off nine overs), Gawne then took care of Chris Wittig and Matt Robertson to leave Pyalong at 4/51 and Seymour in with a sniff.

But this pressure was well absorbed by Damian Zoch (56) and Jayson Meade (55) who laid down the foundation of Pyalong’s innings.

Pyalong upped the ante as the end of their 45 overs approached and after James Noonan made a difficult catch deep in the field look easy to remove Meade, the wickets came easier for Seymour.

Lachie Drummond had Zoch caught and bowled, Dan McLarty did the same to Pyalong’s captain Matt Wilkins (19) and on the last ball Jason Brown ripped out Brendan Zoch’s stumps to prevent a second, audacious run being made.

Keeping Pyalong to under 200 runs was a good start for Seymour. But whatever small foothold in the game Seymour might have gained with the ball was soon lost as Damian Murphy and Dan McLarty were both removed for nought.

Pyalong’s Michael Fairweather (3-14 off nine overs) and Nathan Farrell-Ryan (2-28 off six overs) smashed a hole through Seymour’s top order, removing James Noonan and Jason Brown cheaply, and the target of 197 runs grew ever menacing.

With wickets tumbling early, Seymour’s Brett Gordon (28) managed to cut a defiant figure before he was bowled by Meade.

Lachie Drummond (21) then took up the resistance, but again Meade struck, leaving Seymour at 8/63 and the game well and truly over.

After Singh and Brodie Pointon were removed by Jake Delaney, the celebrations began for Pyalong. They had won the B-Grade premiership by a whopping 124 runs, defeating a brave Seymour side which had only weeks ago held them to an incredible drawn game.


Eastern Hill completed a fairytale run from sixth on the ladder to claim the C-Grade premiership, defeating Nagambie on their home turf.

More in Regional
Login Sign Up

Dummy text