Ky sent packing

March 14, 2018

KYABRAM will have to wait another season to try to win its first premiership in Cricket Shepparton’s Haisman Shield competition after a semi-final loss to Katandra at the weekend.

The Redbacks failed to deliver with the bat on the second day and paid the penalty, suffering a 43-run defeat in the clash at Katandra.

Some dropped catches and a last-wicket Katandra stand didn’t help Kyabram’s chances.

Katandra’s last two batsmen, Brady Black and Corey Hickford, frustrated the visitors and added a valuable 35 runs to boost the score from 9/135 to a respectable 170.

Jackson McLay was Kyabram’s most successful bowler picking up 4/37 off 15 overs, while spearhead Curtis Ryan was tight with his 19 overs, including eight maidens, costing only 40 runs.

Kyabram lost opening batsman Kyle Fitzgerald before stumps on Saturday night and really never recovered when resuming their run chase at 1/10 on Sunday.

Only Eliot Callis and skipper Alec Young offered any serious resistence to the Katandra attack led by its skipper Jedd Wright with 4/24, Ray Ireland with 2/12 and Corey Hickford with 2/24.

Callis (58) provided almost half the Kyabram total and Young carried his bat for 18 but seven Kyabram batsmen failed to make it to double figures.


IT WAS a similar story in B grade for Kyabram with its batsmen failing to handle finals pressure in its semi-final loss to Euroa.

Batting first after winning the toss in the clash at Kyabram, Euroa’s batsmen compiled a competitive 195 off 76 overs.

But in reply, Kyabram surrendered meekly, with only opener Tim Nelson and Matt McDonald reaching double figures.

Nelson was the mainstay, seeing off six partners in a virtually lone-hand knock of 37. McDonald was 14 not out when the Kyabram innings came to a disappointing close after just 43 overs.

In Euroa’s innings opening bowlers Matt McDonald with 2/27 off 15 overs Lukas Hanslow with 1/14 off 9.1 overs were economical and were well supported by Angus McKenzie with 2/19 off 10 overs and Connor Dawes with 2/31 off 13 overs.

But the failure of its batsmen to deliver was the death knell for the team.


KYABRAM’S batsmen paid the penalty for getting starts and not going on with it against Mooroopna to bow out of the premiership race.

Winning the toss and batting in the game at Mooroopna, Kyabram was dismissed for just 113 in 64.2 overs, with Dean Letiza (23) and Gavin Canute (22) the main run makers.

At one stage, Kyabram was looking good at 2/62 but its last eight wickets produced just 41 runs.

In reply, Mooroopna had its anxious moments but it covered Kyabram’s score for the loss of six wickets to book its spot in the fnal.

Most successful of the Kyabram bowlers were Jonathan Hipwell with a brilliant 6/31 off 20.5 overs and Darren Hawes with 3/38 off 19 overs.

Kyabram rattled up 6/105 in its second innings in a bid to win outright but it was never going to happen.


KYABRAM’S E grade side is the only team to reach the season decider after an emphatic semi-final win over Mooroopna at Lemnos.

With Ricky Glass and Chris Usher doing most of the damage with the ball, Kyabram restricted Mooroopna to 92 off its 40 overs.

Glass picked up 3/13 off his eight overs and Usher claimed two victims in his only over.

Then the Kyabram openers, Peter Ryan and Wayne O’Neill, put their side well on the road to victory with a partnership of 56.

O’Neill top scored with 44 with six boundaries while Ryan, who made 29, was dismissed when Kyabram needed just two runs to book its spot in the season decider.

Aiden Robinson made sure of the win with an unbeaten 15.

Kyabram now meets Katandra for the premiership at Vibert Oval Shepparton this weekend.

- Gus Underwood

More in Regional
Login Sign Up

Dummy text