A Grade on the back foot

By Corowa Free Press

A Grade suffered their third-straight defeat after going down by 11 runs to Barnawartha/Chiltern in their clash at Barnawartha.

With a handful of players unavailable, youngster Ryan Beveridge made his debut and veterans Scott Wilson and Shane Norman came in to help out.

Losing the toss, the Roos were asked to bowl first. Matt Grantham and Joe Hansen made early breakthroughs to have the Miners at 2/16. The Miners batted sensibly, pushing the score to 57 before Daniel Athanitis struck in his first over.

The Miners offered some chances but the Roos didn’t take them, as the Miners got into a strong position at 3/126 with eight overs remaining.

Joe Hansen bowled well to take two more wickets and Kaelan Bradtke took three wickets but the Miners were able to score another 45 runs as they finished their 45 overs at 8/171. 

Hansen bowled well to take 3/30 off eight overs, while Bradtke took 3/47 off his nine overs. Spinners Daniel Athanitis and Luke Backhouse bowled without luck to take 1/20 and 0/28 respectively off their nine overs.

In reply, Shane Norman was lost early for six, with the Roos stuck on 1/8. Nathan Rhodes looked comfortable as he pushed the score along to 39 before he went out for 25.

But with his dismissal, the Roos lost another two quick wickets to fall 4/42. Youngster Jordan Eyers (27) and Ryan Beveridge (13) batted sensibly adding 60 valuable runs but when both were dismissed with the score at 102, the Roos looked in trouble at 6/102 with 13 overs to go. 

Some great running between the wickets by Bradtke and Hansen got the Roos to 155 before Bradtke was caught on the boundary for 16.

Needing 13 off the last over, Hansen was run out for 14 as the Roos were dismissed for 160.

The Roos have a very big game this week against Yackandandah at Ball Park. The team needs a win to get their season back on track so get down and support them this Saturday.  

C Grade

C Grade had a hard-fought three-wicket victory over North Albury in their clash at Ball Park.

With B Grade having the bye, the C graders were able to take the field at Ball Park. Bowling first, all the bowlers bowled well with Danny Osborne the pick of the bowlers taking 3/11 off six overs. He was well supported by Bailey Minogue with 2/18 and Darcy Melksham with 2/24 as the boys bowled out North Albury for 128 in the 35th over.

In reply, the Roos lost last week’s century maker Liam McDonell early along with Liam Carter and Darcy Melksham to be on 3/20.

Billy Raggett batted well making 45 but when he was dismissed, the Roos lost their way as they fell 7/89 with still 40 runs needed.

Youngsters Bailey Minogue and Lachy Raggett were the heroes as they safely guided the team home, with Minogue making the match-winning 38 with Raggett also holding up his end, making seven, and handing the Roos victory in the 30th over on a score of 7/131. 

This week sees the side take on St Patricks at Xavier Oval No. 2.

The Club would like to acknowledge our sponsors for this season: Corowa RSL Club, Hotel Australia, David Lane Builder, Corowa Home Improvements, John Rhodes Bricklaying, Sportspower Corowa, Davidson White, Dunns Twin City Cranes, Kilara Group Corowa, Meat on the Murray, Stockdale and Logo Corowa, Corowa Bakery, Pharmasave, Lawson Grains, BWS, Potts and Schnelle, Corowa Tree Care, GenTech Seeds, Bartletts Corowa Gas, Origin Clothing, Brian Eales Painting, Health Culture, Woolworths Corowa as well as the support of the Federation Council. 

Under 12s Corowa Blue def East Albury

Toss won by Corowa Blue, East Albury batted first

Corowa Blue – 1st innings

J Allan c and b M Walker 0

L Chester b C Sawyer 0

B Eyers b M Walker 2

D Ryland c M Walker b OC Ayton 6

J Forge not out 32

N McSweeney b M Walker 0

A Wynne retired not out 2

HR Baker c and b C Skillicorn 4

T Abley not out 17

J Moloney b C Sawyer 3

Extras (nb 6, w 24, b 2, lb 0) 31

Overs: 20 Total: 7/98 (cc)

FOW: 0 (J Allan) 2 (B Eyers) 4 (L Chester) 39 (N McSweeney) 51 (HR Baker) 60 (J Moloney) 70 (D Ryland). 

Bowling: M Walker 3/0/2/15; M Shepherd 2/0/1/8; E Haberfield 3/0/0/11; C Skillicorn 2/0/1/14; C Sawyer 2/0/1/15; OC Ayton 2/0/0/9; R Frazer 2/0/1/6; A Harrap 2/0/0/11; DS Green O 2/0/0/9.  

East Albury – 1st innings

Extras: (nb 0, w 4, b 4, lb 12) 20 

Overs: 20 Total: 6/95 (cc)

Bowling: T Abley 2/0/0/11; L Chester 2/0/0/3; J Moloney 2/0/1/6; D Ryland 2/0/1/11; J Allan 2/0/0/7;  N McSweeney 2/0/0/15; A Wynne 2/0/0/7; HR Baker 2/0/0/15; B Eyers 2/0/0/7; J Forge 2/0/2/10. 

Under 14s Corowa Blue def New City

Toss won by New City, New City batted first

Corowa Blue – 1st innings

L Raggett retired not out 23

R Allan retired not out 19

R Glare retired not out 15

R Blain retired not out 17

B Lewis b I Bush c DA Harvey 4

A Smith c M Heriot 4

J Biddle retired not out 2

J Fuge not out 3

J Bolger not out 6

J Allan dnb

C Blain dnb

Extras: (nb 2, w 4, b 6, lb 0) 12

Overs: 20 Total: 3/109 (cc)

FOW: 73 (B lewis) 95 (a smith) 96 (I Bush).

New City – 1st innings

Extras: (nb 3, w 6, b 4, lb 0) 13

Overs: 20 Total: 4/72 (cc)

Bowling: B Lewis 3/0/1/5; I Bush 3/0/0/10; L Raggett 2/0/0/8; R Blain 2/1/0/3; R Allan 2/0/1/6; J Fuge 2/0/0/9; R Glare 2/0/1/4; A Smith 2/1/0/10; J Biddle 2/0/1/13. 

Under 14s East Albury def by Corowa White

Toss won by Corowa White, Corowa White batted first

Corowa White – 1st innings

P Lavis c F Kohlhagen b C Ziebarth 4

E Hanrahan retired not out 32

N Harvey b C McGrath 10

N Lavis c C Ziebarth b T Kohlhagen 25

J Eales not out 12

M Parker b H Grigg 5

J Lavis b N Spry 0

S Dawson not out 13

H Barber b H Grigg 1

C Connell b H Grigg 0

J Bruce c OL Hayes b S Mishra 4

B Julian dnb

Extras: (nb 7, w 5, b 14, lb 0) 26

Overs: 20 Total: 8/133 (cc)

East Albury – 1st innings

Extras: (nb 1, w 22, b 1, lb 0) 24

Overs: 20 Total: 9/124 (cc)

Bowling:  P Lavis 3/0/0/7; N Lavis 3/0/0/12; N Harvey 3/0/2/15; J Lavis 2/0/0/16; E Hanrahan 2/0/1/11; S Dawson 2/0/0/15; B Julian 2/0/1/22; J Eales 2/0/2/13; J Bruce 1/0/1/12.  

Under 16s East Albury def Corowa

Toss won by East Albury, Corowa C.C batted first

Corowa C.C – 1st innings

A Lavis c M Hemann-Petersen
b CH Sanson 0

R Beveridge run out 10

L Heagney c H Watson b A Thomas 1

MP Bush b CH Sanson 0

W Seymour c and b H Watson 13

G Sutcliffe b N Pathmanathan 10

P Blain st M Hemann-Petersen
b H Watson 8

R Heagney not out 5

C Kushert c EJ Hollard
b N Pathmanathan 0

W Julian c A Thomas b H Watson 0

R Eyers c CH Sanson b A Thomas 13

J Villanueva dnb

Extras: (nb 0, w 0, b 0, lb 0) 0

Overs: 13.5 Total: 60

FOW: 0 (A Lavis) 10 (MP Bush) 10 (R Beveridge) 14 (L Heagney) 26 (W Seymour) 42 (P Blain) 42 (G Sutcliffe) 42 (c kushert) 43 (W Julian) 60 (R Eyers). 

East Albury – 1st innings

Extras: (nb 2, w 10, b 1, lb 0) 13

Overs: 20 Total: 5/107 (cc)

Bowling: C Kuschert 3/0/0/23; G Sutcliffe 4/0/2/22; R Eyers 3/1/1/15; P Blain 2/0/0/15; J Villanueva 2/0/0/11; R Heagney 2/1/0/7; L Heagney 3/0/2/10; W Seymour 1/0/0/3.