Hogan claims fifth best and fairest win

By Deniliquin Pastoral Times

Deni Rhinos all-rounder Andrew Hogan cleaned up at the club’s presentation day polling 17 votes to be named Cricketer of the Year for the fifth year in a row in Premier Grade.

Hogan dominated the awards — held at the Deniliquin RSL on Sunday — taking out the Batting Aggregate (416 runs), Batting Average (41.60), Bowling Aggregate (28 wickets) and the Bowling Average (11.46).

The club fielding award was the only award to elude Hogan, with Boddie Arthur claiming the honour with eight catches during the season.

Hogan was also presented with one six-wicket haul and two five wicket-haul balls from the season, with Rhinos spinner Evan Pocock also earning a five-wicket haul ball.

In Division One it was experience that won the day, with Phil Rotherham claiming the best and fairest trophy with 12 votes.

Rotherham also claimed the Bowling Aggregate award alongside young-gun Charlie Hillier, with both players snaring 11 wickets during the year.

Hillier also earned the Division One Bowling Average (6.00) while Chris Pyle claimed both the Batting Average (62.00) and Batting Aggregate (186 runs).

Young cricketer Tom McCallum won a tight vote count in Division Two, named best and fairest with eight votes.

Ryan MacDonald won the Batting Award with 110 runs at 55.00; and Andrew Holloway took out the Bowling Award with 14 wickets at 8.50.

In the junior ranks it was a clean sweep by all-rounder Charlie Hillier, with the Under 14s league best and fairest winning all four awards on offer.

Hillier won the Batting Average (111.50), Batting Aggregate (223 runs), Bowling Average (2.36) and Bowling Aggregate (22 wickets).

The young Rhino was also presented with his two hat-trick balls from the season, coming against Berrigan/Jerilderie in round three and against CYU/Barooga in round six.