Heathcote golf

By McIvor Times

A TOTAL of 70 men and 5 ladies took part in the Opening Day — Bob and Lorraine Gunn Trophy event at the Axedale Golf Club on Saturday, with thanks to Bendigo Mazda.

Mixed event:

Forty-four teams competed in a mixed event.

In division one the winning team comprised Anthony and Kristy Strybosch (73 gross, 13 h/c, 60 nett). The runner-up team comprised Stan Davis and Alison Barrett (71 gross, 9 h/c, 62 nett). Finishing in third place was the team comprised of Daryl and Raye Fleay (71 gross, 8.25 h/c, 62.75 nett).

Ball winners: John and Carmel Harrison 63.5; Daryl Jeffrey and Annette Holmes 65; Len Rodda and Loretta Prowse 65.5.

Ladies event:

In the ladies event, the winner was Therese Lynch (39 h/c, 40 points).

The ball winner was Muriel Pitts 36 points.

Men’s event:

In division one of the men’s event, for handicaps of 0-14, the winner was Peter Hoskin (8 h/c, 42 points). The runner-up was Colin Green (11 h/c, 41 points). Third place went to Allan Andrews (11 h/c, 40 points).

In division two, for handicaps of 15-19, the winner was Andrew McDougall (16 h/c, 41 points). The runner-up was Sheldon Carter (15 h/c, 38 points). And third place went to David Stephens (18 h/c, 35 points).

In division three, for handicaps of 20-36, the winner was Paul Blakely (23 h/c, 44 points). The runner-up was Peter Stewart (20 h/c, 42 points). Third place went to Russell McGibbon (21 h/c, 37 points) on a count-back.

Ball winners: Rod Connelly 38, Brett Moore 38, Paul OSullivan 37, Fred Dijkman 36, Craig Simpson 36; and Denis Higgins 36 (on a countback).

Nearest the pins:

1st hole: division one: Don Mitchell; division two: Peter King.

3rd hole (2nd shot): division one: David Baillie; division two: Peter Stringer.

6th hole (open): Len Rodda.

16th hole super pin (entries): Craig Simpson.

18th hole: division one: Steven Lee; division two: Paul Blakely.

■ ON THURSDAY, March 7, 69 men took part in a stableford event at the Axedale Golf Club.

In division one (0-15) the winner was Tom Phelan (12 h/c, 39 nett). The runner-up was Peter Williamson (12 h/c, 38 nett) on a count-back from Garry Harrop (10 h/c, 38 nett) also on a count-back.

In division two the winner was David Baillie (17 h/c, 39 nett) on a count-back from Ian Stove (20 h/c, 39 nett). Third place went to John McCullagh (17 h/c, 38 nett).

In division three the winner was Peter Thomas (21 h/c, 42 nett). The runner-up was Ernie Lowndes (23 h/c, 37 nett), while third place went to Rick Manley (22 h/c, 36 nett).

Ball winners: Anthony Strybosch 38, Roger Heider 37, Don Leversha 36, Steven Lee 36, Sid Spofforth 35; and Brian Keating 35 on a count-back.

Nearest the pins:

1st hole division one: Sam Bilardi; division two: Brian Keating.

3rd hole, 2nd shot division one: Rob Minne; division two: Geoff Kerr.

6th hole open: Roger Heider.

18th hole division one: Gary Johnstone; division two: Rick Townsend.

Presidential Longest Putt (17th hole): Mark Kesper.

2018 Midweek Trophy — Ian Martin Cup: Peter Thomas.

Encouragement Award

Division one: Sam Bilardi; division two: Martin Skahill; division three: John Geldart.

Birdie Ball: Tim Holmes (6th).