Donkin, Pyle double up

By Southern Riverina News

Ryan Donkin had an impressive weekend taking out Saturday and Sunday's Division One trophies.

Donkin's 39 points was enough to win Saturday's Sutto’s Bobcat Hire stableford event.

Andrew Higgins who had 37 points was the Division Two winner.

Sharon Pyle’s 37 points gave her the ladies trophy.

Along with the day’s competition the President and Captain’s Trophy was decided for 2020.

After much calculation and computing the President’s Team was declared the winner of the 2020 trophy with an eighteen point advantage.

Ball competition trophies were awarded to each member of the winning team.

Donkin continued his good form when he returned to card 41 points to take out the men’s Division One trophy at the JDS Industry on Sunday.

Ian Daniel with 36 points was the Division Two winner.

Sharon Pyle also maintained fine form making it two in a row, when she took out the Ladies Division on 38.

Ball competition winners were Darren John (38), Colin McNamara (36), Margot Robertson (36), Paul Beaver (35), Alan Hand (34), Trevor McCaw (34), Wayne Peasley (34), Jason Pyle (34), Ian Swain (34) and Sue Simpson (33).

The ladies played stableford for the Paul Roberts Jeweller’s trophy on Wednesday.

Annie Wood on 37 points came out the winner after countback.

Ball competition winners were Marian Ayres (37), Helen Wastle (35), Janet Delmenico (35), and Kim Lawlor (33).

At the Wednesday men's Flippa’s Auto Electrics stableford competition Rick Harris came out on top with 41 points

Stableford was played at the nine hole competition on Thursday.

The winner after countback was Heather Daniel with 18 Points.

Ball competition winners were John Taylor (18), Matt Daniel (17) and Rob Daniel (17).

At the weekend par will be played on Saturday and on Sunday it will be Monthly Medal.


Tuesday, May 12 saw 17 ladies playing par with Kerri McKenna taking the win with 3-up.

Gold winner went to Mary McMahon on 5-up.

Stroke was played on Wednesday with 59 members teeing off.

Division One went to Dale Casley with 75 while Division Two was won by Ray Bailey with 72.

Men's Gold winner was Allan Penny on 79.

Saturday saw 47 ladies playing stableford with Division One won by Jean Sommerville on countback from Leanne Marshall, both finishing with 37 points.

Young gun Olivia Thompson was the Division Two winner with 37, two shots ahead of runner-up Barbara Clark.

Ladies Gold winner was Pauline Gilbee with 30 points.

A total of 75 members played stableford with Division One going to Phil Nunn (38), two points ahead of runner up Doug Perrett.

Division Two went to Matthew Whelan (42) while runner-up was won by Denis Garner (38).

Division Three was won by Ronald Loversidge (35), runner-up went to Billy Greig (33).

Men's Gold went to Allan Penny with 29 points.

Sunday saw 15 ladies playing par with Leanne Marshall taking the honours with 1-up on the Captain's Course.

The club had 94 members playing par on the the Captain's Course with Division One going to Mark Conway with 2-up. Runner-up was Peter Bolt who finished 1-up.

Division Two went to Greg Brooks on countback to Lawrence Deering who both finished even.

Division Three went to Trent Wade with 7-up.

Runner-up went to Graham Owen 1-up.

Men's Gold winner was Douglas McClelland with 2-down.