Rochester recognises individual stars

By Brayden May

ROCHESTER captain Sean Williams has capped off a stellar season after being named the Keith Wilson champion player for A grade.

Williams starred for his side this season, as they made an unlikely run to the grand final after sneaking into the Goulburn Murray Cricket top four.

His efforts also saw him take home the bowling award after taking 32 wickets at an average of 13.34, while scoring 532 runs with the bat throughout the season.

A large number of those runs came in the semi-final against Moama, where Williams produced the innings of his life scoring 154 not out.

Dylan Cuttriss was also recognised for his individual efforts after taking home the Michael Mulchay batting award, after scoring 565 runs at 47.08.

Meanwhile in B grade, Samuel Coughlin’s all-rounder skills shone through as he was named the team’s champion player.

He finished the season with 213 runs, while contributing 11 wickets.

Other award winners from the second senior side included Bradley Major (batting average), Brandon Byrne (bowling aggregate), Mark MacFarlane (bowling average) and Stuart Withers (batting aggregate).

Leigh Hartshorne cleaned up the award for Rochy’s C grade, after he won the champion player alongside all batting and bowling awards.

Young gun Waugh George, who also impressed in the A grade side throughout the season, collected the club’s under 16 champion player award.

George also had the best batting aggregate and average for his junior side as Nate Rasmussen (bowling average) and Sam Ryan (bowling average) collected the team’s other awards.

Rasmussen’s trophy cabinet received a big boost from the under 14s presentation, as he won every award possible.

Meanwhile, Charlie Ryan was also rewarded for a strong season after being named the Michael Gallagher Rising Star.

“The Club and players would also like to thank our magnificent curators, Peter Howes, Bill Dingwall and Brendan Martin for the countless hours they spend preparing the grounds and wickets each week,” a post on the club's Facebook page said.

“Our sponsors continue to play a major part in keeping our players on the field and our facilities up to scratch. We thank you for your ongoing support and look forward to building even stronger connections between our club and your businesses.

“Congratulations to all trophy winners and we look forward to seeing you all next season.”